Unsupported Screen Size: The viewport size is too small for the theme to render properly.

Importing from Excel

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 10 reply threads
  • Author
      soccerbum

Hello,

This looks like a really great tool! Once I get past this import, I look forward to making big messes! 🙄

While importing from Excel 2000, I was getting errors parsing fields/columns with spaces in the title. I went ahead and modified the source to eliminate that, and now I'm getting an error that I can't figure out. I'm quite new at MySQL so this could be a very simple error.

“[Microsoft] [ODBC Excel Driver] Syntax Error in Query. Incomplete Query Clause”

The statement it's trying to execute is:

create table `assets`.`engineering` (

`Device` varchar (255) NULL ,

`Make` varchar (255) NULL ,

`Model` varchar (255) NULL ,

`Includes` varchar (255) NULL ,

`Serial` varchar (255) NULL ,

`DatePurchased` varchar (255) NULL ,

`Vendor` varchar (255) NULL ,

`Cost` numeric (19,4) NULL ,

`Invoice ` double (15,0) NULL ,

`Location` varchar (255) NULL

);

The MySQL server version is:

mysql Ver 12.18 Distrib 4.0.12, for pc-linux (i686)

What am I doing wrong? (btw, I edited the above statement to change the table name and to ignore the final field in the excel database. Hopefully that doesn't mess anything up.)

Any help appreciated!

Cheers,

Chris

Shadow

Are you sure that this is the sql statement that causes the error? It seems OK to me. Perhaps you could try to add a primary ket to the table manually.

soccerbum

Modifying my 'Edit MySQL' input with this:

create table `assets`.`engineering` (

`id` int (4) AUTO_INCREMENT,

`Device` varchar (255) NULL ,

`Make` varchar (255) NULL ,

`Model` varchar (255) NULL ,

`Includes` varchar (255) NULL ,

`Serial` varchar (255) NULL ,

`DatePurchased` varchar (255) NULL ,

`Vendor` varchar (255) NULL ,

`Cost` numeric (19,4) NULL ,

`Invoice ` double (15,0) NULL ,

`Location` varchar (255) NULL ,

`F11` varchar (255) NULL,