Unsupported Screen Size: The viewport size is too small for the theme to render properly.

Feature Request: Select Distinct Values For A Column

forums forums SQLyog SQLyog: Bugs / Feature Requests Feature Request: Select Distinct Values For A Column

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 5 reply threads
  • Author
      cmm324

Hi everyone, I have been using SqlYog for a few months now and it is growing on me. I have used MySql Workbench for a long time but have been fed up with its instability and lack of support for feature requests and even worse, issues. They never even responded when I posted a bug report for whenever I open a database connection, even if I do not run any queries, the application spikes one of my CPU cores and holds it there.

However, this feature request is for the object explorer and/or the info tab. I often want to see the distinct values for a certain column when working with new data structures. In object explorer, it would be great to be able to right click a column and select an option that opens a new query tab with a SELECT DISTINCT statement on that column and then is auto run to show the results. For the info tab, a simple link or button for each column line in the table to select distinct.

What would make this even better, is to have an alternate option that does a group by counting the occurrences of each distinct value in that column in the database table (select column, count(*) as column_count from … group by).

Thanks,

Chris

peterlaursen
      Participant
      Thanks for your interest in SQLyog.

I will not comment on your experiences with Workbench. Over the 10+ years we have co-existed with GUI tools from MySQL/Sun/Oracle as well as from others, we have avoided ‘mud-throwing’ at each others.  And we are not the ones who will be changing that.