Unsupported Screen Size: The viewport size is too small for the theme to render properly.

CSV Import

forums forums SQLyog Using SQLyog CSV Import

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 6 reply threads
  • Author
      Bruce5M

Hi,

I'm new to SQLyog and MySQL and need to import a .csv file into an existing database/table. The csv file is quote and comma delimited and the fields correspond directly to the table, there are no column headings.

My problem is I cannot get the correct “line terminated by: ” setting. I've tried the default n and I also tried de-selecting it completely. The csv file is on a XP Pro box with about 705,000 records. I can load it into MS Access no problem.

When I try CSV import I set “Fields terminated by: ” to a comma and the “Fields enclosed by: ” is set to a single quote. Variable length is checked but with or without the “line terminated by:” setting I get only 352870 records out of the 705,000+.

I've found no reference in the doc's to the meaning of n for line termination and what values are allowed. When I read a record in my software and print the hex value the line ends with a quote, there is no $0D0A$ ( cr/lf) at the end.

Thanks

Bruce Racht

CalEvans

nl ???

=C=

Bruce5M

Thanks Cal.

Bruce

peterlaursen
      Participant

you write: ” I can load it into MS Access no problem.”

then export it from Access into MySQL (first create an empty database using sqlyog)

JerryL
      CalEvans wrote on Mar 14 2004, 08:43 PM:
      nl ???

=C=

I have about the same problem as the previous user… but the nl solution doesn't work… neither does n or l or nr or AUTO or any of my other attempts to snag this by trial and error.