4 replies to this topic

#1 sqlnewbie123

sqlnewbie123

• Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts

Posted 25 March 2009 - 03:43 AM

Hello everyone!

I am new to SQL so I apolgize for what is probably a stupid question.

I have a very simple movie database. My main table "movies" holds each movie and basic information about that movie: title, rating, genre, plot, etc. I would like to have a few other tables to hold the option information. For example I created a table genre. This table has all the possible genres linked to a primary key index.

So far, I have set up the relationships using a foreign key. I have the primary key in the genre table connected to a genreid field in the movie table. I think all of this is set up correctly since it did not give me any errors.

My question is, how can I link these two tables so that when I go to Table > View Data and open up my movie table, I see a drop-down box under Genre holding all of my genre options that are stored in the genre table? I tried using SQL queries, but I don't see how these affect the data entry section.

I have the foreign key link, but how does it know that I want the genre table to populate a genre field in the movie table? Sorry if this sounds confusing. Please let me know if you need me to clarify what I am asking.

Thanks!

Attached Files

• Attached File  db.jpg   13.47KB   5 downloads

#2 Mahesh

Mahesh

Advanced Member

• Admin
  • PipPipPip
  • 499 posts
  • Interests:MySQL, Cricket, Music..

Posted 25 March 2009 - 05:02 AM

Hi,

I can Understand that you have two tables Movie and Genre both are having Foreign Key relationship on a genreid key.

You want to see Movie -- Genre column as dropdown so, that it will show fields of Genre table's columns.

But it is not feasible to show Table data like this.
Table -- View Data will show only data of the same table.

#3 peterlaursen

peterlaursen

Advanced Member

• Admin
  • PipPipPip
  • 7,914 posts